Five Favorite Warm-Up Songs

5. “Cobrastyle” by Teddybears featuring Mad Cobra

Quick disclaimer: I have no idea what the song translates to. With that being said, the unique sound in “Cobrastyle” gets you pumped for a good workout, especially with the lyric, “My style is the bomb.” At least, I think that’s what the singer’s saying. 🙂

4. “It’s My Life” by Bon Jovi

Bon Jovi occupies a huge amount of MBs on my playlists, but “It’s My Life” is one of my favorites. JBJ sings, “It’s my life/It’s now or never/I ain’t gonna live forever/I just wanna live while I’m alive.” A perfect mantra for those of us that have given up living because of the number on the scale. Playing this song at the beginning of workouts reminds me that, no matter how much I weigh, it’s up to me to enjoy my life, and exercising is a great way to enjoy the wind on my skin and the bend of my legs. Exercise is a great way to feel alive.

3. “Stacy’s Mom Has Got It Going On” by Bowling for Soup

This song is a guilty pleasure. I’m about to admit something that I’ve never told anyone, not one other soul: Sometimes, when I need a kick to begin my workout, I change Stacy to Leda. Yes, I’m sure my daughter would hate to think her friends found her mom attractive. But hey, what can I say? Chanting “Leda’s mom has got it going on” a few times in my head makes me feel sexy in sweats.

2. “I’m Still Here” by John Rzeznik of the Goo Goo Dolls

When I feel I need to stretch a bit, “I’m Still Here” is my go-to song. The beat is slower, but, more importantly for me, the lyrics ask for reflection. I play this when I’m physically ready to work out, but not quite ready mentally.

1. “This Fire” by Franz Ferdinand

When Alex Kapranos croons, “This fire is out of control/I’m gonna burn this city/Burn this city”, I think of how I’m about to burn the pavement or how I’m about to kick ass on the Del Mar hill with my bike. The percussion at the beginning also gets my toes tapping, which creates anticipation for the workout in store.

How about you? Any favorite warm-up songs? Share them in the comments section!

About lachihuahuaespicy

I write. You can find the following authors on my bookshelf: Kafka, Murakami, Auster, Austen, as well as Hiromu Arakawa and Alan Moore. View all posts by lachihuahuaespicy

6 responses to “Five Favorite Warm-Up Songs

  • knowwhentoshutup

    Some of my favorites are by Lady Gaga, but I have been known to do a whole treadmill work out with her. Speechless is a great stretching/cool down song.

    I also like The Veronica’s ‘Take Me on the Floor’. It just has a great beat and keeps me inspired. Although, that is the case for most of the songs with a dance beat. Although I have quite a bit of country, ‘She’s Country’ by Jason Aldean is good. For cool down, I love Beyonce’s ‘If I Were A Boy’. Just helps bring my pacing down. But, I guess my list, which blends everything from the Beatles forward is a tiny bit scattered.

    Thank goodness for music to work out with – it would be a lot harder without it!

  • Monica

    Girl, you know me. When I ran the half marathon I listened to almost nothing but Bon Jovi. My fav, get pumped up Bon Jovi song, the one I usually start my runs of with is “We’ve Got it Going On.” The beat is good to set the pace for a nice steady jog/run and the lyrics… Well, who doesn’t like to feel like they have it going on?

    • cheeseadditional

      LOL Yup, I sure did know JBJ would be on your list! 🙂

      “We Got It Going On” is on a Spinning playlist of mine. The beat is perfect for climbing, and I like to mentally picture myself shaking my bones on that bike. If it weren’t for you, I would have never discovered that song. I first heard it at the concert. 🙂

      • UghMyPantsAreTight

        I spent the holiday coming up with 6 different playlist, each an hour long, and each starting and ending with about 8 minutes of slower songs for a cool down. I love that each playlist, which vary from one that is all classic rock, one all rap, one all pop, etc. have my favorite of FAVORITES so my walks are much more fun. That hour goes by so fast and it’s been a great way to keep on track! You are right – music stirs up the soul!

      • cheeseadditional

        That’s the best part. The songs are what inspire us! 😀

Leave a Reply

