Five Guilty Food Pleasures

I’d hoped to regale you with a tale of my trip to the salon, but alas, no check today means I’ll have to postpone my prize until next week.

So, I thought it’d be fun to share my five guilty food pleasures, foods that, were I to cut them out of my diet, I’d fall off the wagon. And you know I want you to comment about yours, too! It’s confession hour, ladies and gentlemen.

Dani’s Five Guilty Food Pleasures

5. Mac and Cheese

Oprah admitted this week that, when Their Eyes Were Watching God tanked at the box office, she went on a mac and cheese binge, and I understand why. Noodles bathed in cheese, butter, and milk? That’s Heaven waiting on the stove for me to stop by and take the first bite. I will never be too old for mac and cheese.

4. Ice Cream

Butter Pecan. Banana Nut. Cookies ‘n’ Cream. All these flavors have, at one time or another, graced the shelves of my freezer. Since I want to have my ice cream and eat it, too, I now approach the carton with a 1/2 dry measuring cup, because, when it comes to ice cream and weight loss, ignorance of the nutritional label is not bliss.

3. Cheeseburgers

Doesn’t matter if it’s the Whataburger from Whataburger, the Quarter Pounder with Cheese from McDonald’s, or the Old Fashioned Cheeseburger from Logan’s Roadhouse. I. Love. Cheeseburgers. If someone were to open a real life Krusty Krab restaurant, I’d be in line to try a Krabby Patty.Β  And if I worked-out like Michael Phelps, you can bet I’d eat a cheeseburger everyday. But because I don’t, I treat myself to one once a week. As long as I budget for that burger in my food diary, I don’t feel guilty.

2. Caramel

A few months ago, I inched down the check-out line at H-E-B, andΒ  my eyes fell upon a candy I’d never seen before: the Milky Way Simply Caramel bar. With that first bite, I realized I’d stumbled upon sin in a rectangle. And don’t get me started on caramel popcorn! That’s where, again, a dry measuring cup comes in handy.

1. Stuffed Crust Pizza

I love pizza. I love cheese. So Pizza Hut’s Stuffed Crust pizza is a wonderful food invention. A few months ago, you’d find me ordering a large Stuffed Crust Meat Lovers, but , because I am trying to make my guilty pleasures a little healthier, I’ve switched to Veggie Lovers. It took more than one try to get me to eat the olives and onions. I don’t think I’ll ever love olives and onions, but I can now tolerate them. It helps that I remind myself veggies are good for my body.

And that’s my list. It’s your turn. Confess away! πŸ˜€

About lachihuahuaespicy

I write. You can find the following authors on my bookshelf: Kafka, Murakami, Auster, Austen, as well as Hiromu Arakawa and Alan Moore. View all posts by lachihuahuaespicy

13 responses to “Five Guilty Food Pleasures

  • Kim

    I am game. I will post mine.

  • cheeseadditional

    Woohoo, Kim! Going over to check it out now. πŸ™‚

  • Monica

    My guilty pleasures would be chocolate and ice cream. I suffer from a huge sweet tooth and this is usually where my healthy eating habits fall to the way side. After a healthy dinner, I usually ruin all my good intentions and health conscious efforts by chomping on a kit-kat or running to amy’s ice cream.

    • cheeseadditional

      Oh, but Amy’s Ice Cream is organic! LOL

      Yeah, chocolate can get me, too. When I was on WW, I ate a Dove dark chocolate square once a day to combat the urge to have a full blown chocolate attack. I think I might start doing that again. Wait a sec–I don’t have the willpower to eat just one yet. Give me a month. LOL πŸ™‚

      • Monica

        I think you hit on something there. Will power. That really is the key at any point. Whether you are trying to lose 100lbs or 10lbs you have to have the will power to, as you mentioned, walk up to the carton of ice cream with a measuring cup.

      • cheeseadditional

        Yup! And writers have will power in abundance. We get rejected almost everyday! πŸ˜‰

        So, writing and weight loss do work well together. πŸ™‚

  • 40 Pounds By June

    Ass-backwards, as usual. I visited Kim first – so I commented with my five. However….
    One of mine was the Stuffed-crust pizza! I love, love cheese and I adore, adore bread. Is there a better combination? I’ve also turned to the Veggie Lover’s (most of the time ;))
    I can also be a carmel junky. Love those soft carmel circles with the sweet white center! Oooo….
    OK – snap out of it, Colleen

  • knowwhentoshutup

    mmmm, sounds yummy to me! I forgot my lunch today – leaving me to whatever leftover’s I had in my desk (ie. pretzels) and some veggies from last week. I’d much rather eat a burger. Have you ever grilled portabello mushroom caps on a grill with burger seasonings? Great meaty flavor, with less of the guilt!

  • Guilty Pleasures « I want to be a loser

    […] Tags: food, things i like 0 After reading this great post by CheeseAdditional about the Five Guilty Food Pleasures, I just had to write a little post about some of mine. So, without further […]

  • Cake and Tea Blog

    I have so many guilty pleasures! Ok here goes…
    Chocolate, any sort of cake, cheese, pasta with any sort of creamy, cheesey sauce, kebabs (the naughty sort from a greasy takeaway,)sausages, and great British fish and chips. Er, why do I have weight to lose???

    • cheeseadditional

      LOL True! Why do we have weight to lose? Cheese is sooooooo good. And being from England, you probably have access to some great chocolate. We hosted a German exchange student one time and gave her a Hershey’s bar. She made a face and said, “This is not good chocolate.” LOL

Leave a Reply

