The Park and My Polar CS300

I am a big fan of heart rate monitors, especially the ones from Polar. Because you input your information during set-up, i.e. age, sex, weight, height, a heart rate monitor allows you to keep an eye on your intensity level and and track how many calories you’ve burned during a workout. There are many varieties to fit every budget, from the basic, like the Polar FS3C, to the CS300, which is not only a heart rate monitor but a cycling computer. Usually, while I wear the watch to my CS300 everyday, I only pair it with the strap at the gym or when I’m hitting the pavement.

Today, though, I was curious to see how many calories I could burn at the park. Because Jude joined us, I was able to ride our BMX bike. A BMX bike forces me to stand up the entire time I ride, so it’s similar to doing a standing flat with a few sprints on a Spinning bike. I’d put on the strap at home, so I was ready to hit the trails after making sure Leda had settled in on the slide. I checked my watch a little after the 20 minute mark and discovered I’d burned 185 calories. I was pumped. Fifteenย  more calories to make the 200 mark? I could do that! At 27 minutes, I’d worked my way up to 315 calories. Needless to say, I felt pretty good about myself.

Jude snapped a few pics so I’d be able to share my ride with you.

~Trying to Get on the Pedals~

~And Take-Off–Baby’s Got Back :P~

~The End of the Ride, and I’m Still Smiling~

So, class, to sum up: Heart rate monitors are on my list of must-haves for anyone going on his/her own weight loss journey. A heart rate monitor helps those of us who don’t have professional coaches get a little more from our workouts. And it’s motivational to glance at your wrist and watch the calories burn away. As with any investment, do a little research to see which heart rate monitor is best for you.

P.S. Leda wants to remind everyone to stay hydrated while exercising.

About lachihuahuaespicy

I write. You can find the following authors on my bookshelf: Kafka, Murakami, Auster, Austen, as well as Hiromu Arakawa and Alan Moore. View all posts by lachihuahuaespicy

6 responses to “The Park and My Polar CS300

  • Kim

    I’m so glad you posted this. I have been looking at heart rate monitors but am weary of them. I have tried a couple and just wasn’t happy. I will look into the one you are using and see if that one will do the trick! Great pics! Keep up the good work.

    • cheeseadditional

      Thanks, Kim! My HRM is for cycling and cross-training, so I can not only use it when I’m cycling outdoors (it tracks my speed and cadence), but when I run and do indoor cycling or hit the gym. So it really works for me.

      Yeah, my thighs are swearing at me, asking why I had to ride the BMX bike instead of the regular mountain bike. LOL

  • 40 Pounds By June

    Ditto to Kim’s comments — I’m looking for one too — would like to see real-time calories burned, quite the incentive!
    Great pics!
    Thanks for the advice from you AND Leda (she’s a smart girl, let her know I said “thank you”!) ๐Ÿ™‚

  • knowwhentoshutup

    Great post! I’ve never ridden (rode?) a BMX bike, looks like fun! There is a place around here that makes recumbent bikes and I’ve always wanted to try.

    Also – Leda is adorable! Drinking enough to stay hydrated is very important! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • cheeseadditional

      Thanks, Know When! She’s my one and only. My angel. ๐Ÿ™‚

      My husband bid on the BMX bike on a whim, and he won. But I use it more. He even taught me how to bunny hop on it. I need to lose more weight to do other tricks, but it just provides more incentive to kick butt on this journey.

      And you should try out a recumbent bike. I never have ridden one, but I have been trying to get the hubby to try a tandem with me. We shall see. LOL

Leave a Reply

