Too Early for a Plateau

Today was weigh-in day, and I have no news to report, good or bad. That’s right–my weight was exactly the same as it was last week.

So, I left Aqui Es, unlocked the door to my apartment, threw off my hoodie, and laid down on my bed. Although I’ve been on my weight loss journey since August, when I began at a little over 250 pounds, I derailed around Thanksgiving and didn’t return to the straight and narrow until New Year’s, so I shouldn’t be plateauing this early in the trip.

I brought up my food log spread sheet. After a bit of analyzing, I narrowed down a few plateau culprits. I’m not a nutritionist or doctor, so these are only guesses as to what happened.

Culprit #1: Three days out of seven, I had not only my usual Coke, but a Diet Coke as well. This will be the easy to remedy.

Culprit #2: There was no variety in my meals. Shake for breakfast, sandwich for lunch, and cereal for dinner. With as much experience as I have losing weight, I should know by now to mix up the menu.

Culprit #3: Shakes, sandwiches, and cereal could not possibly comprise the 1900 calories I needed for the day. Where were the rest of the calories coming from? Dare I admit? Sigh. I will. Those darn Girl Scout cookies. It seems I was so concerned on watching my intake of Thin Mints that I was popping three servings of Lemonades a day. That’s 450 empty calories! This also should be easy to remedy.

Time to reassess, Ladies and Gents. Girl Scout cookies must be limited to one serving. One soft drink per day. And I need to spice up my diet.

What’s the plan for this week? Work to lose one pound. That’s it. Just one pound. I want to see the scale moving down again. I will not give up.

About lachihuahuaespicy

I write. You can find the following authors on my bookshelf: Kafka, Murakami, Auster, Austen, as well as Hiromu Arakawa and Alan Moore. View all posts by lachihuahuaespicy

7 responses to “Too Early for a Plateau

  • 40 Pounds By June

    Dani! Shake, sandwich, cereal? Really? That’s not enough food, girl! I think you’re right on target with the culprits. But, also…give yourself some more protein (try every meal)- it will last longer to help curb hunger and repair muscle after your workouts.

    I am so proud that you are not just throwing in the towel, but willing to figure out this problem and look at it as solvable in smaller segments — 1 FREAKIN POUND AT A TIME πŸ™‚

    • cheeseadditional

      *Hangs head*

      I know, I know. But finally, my student refund check came in, so I can go grocery shopping for good things! You girlies have given me good recipes to try. Now…to just make my way into the kitchen… πŸ™‚

    • cheeseadditional

      I’m horrible with protein! I’m a carb freak! I know I should eat more fish, but…blech! LOL My Spinning instructor tells me, “No red meat!” And I’m fine with that. But that leaves chicken, and that gets tiring after awhile…

  • Edgar

    Keep at it, Danni! I have hit a weightloss plateau as well. I’ve lost six pounds and the scale hasn’t moved in over a week. Its very frustrating but I need to keep the end goal in mind. I am going to stick to it. I had a craving for Chik-Fil-A breakfast this morning. Before I took off for work, I check the calories on their website…940 calories for a sausage, egg, cheese bagel, hash browns, and orange juice. I had Kashi Cereal instead. :((

    Si se puede…

  • knowwhentoshutup

    I am seriously thinking about getting rid of my scale, or having my husband hide it until weigh-day. I torture myself with it.

    Good that you can go back and assess what changes you want to make. I hope that pound will melt right off this week!

    • cheeseadditional

      I don’t have a scale at home, or I’d be tempted to do every weigh-in naked. πŸ˜› Believe me, when I saw that I hadn’t lost anything, I wanted to ask all the other patrons at Aqui Es to turn around while I weighed myself without jeans. LOL

      Yes, that one pound shall come off this week!

Leave a Reply

