When Obsessing About the Scale Isn’t Enough

Many women and men view the scale as a frenemy: A friend when the weight’s coming off, and an enemy when the weight’s packing on. The scale has made me cry, laugh, clap my hands, and/or want to hide under my blanket for days with only Cheetos and cans of Coke to keep me company.

But sometimes, we find other “things” to obsess about that don’t involve the scale. What’s one of my weight obsessions? I often wonder if I’m too fat for my car. I drive a 2007 VW Beetle Convertible, not my dream car, but pretty darn close to it, and every time I put the key in the ignition, I tell myself, “I can’t possibly look cute sitting in the driver’s seat at over 200 pounds. This car begs for a petite gal in a strapless sundress with collarbones that can carve diamonds and thighs that don’t touch.” Again, that is something I’d never tell another person, but myself? I’m fair game.

It’s a good thing, though, that I don’t tell myself I’m too fat to cycle. Believe me, it can be intimidating when you’re surrounded by fit cyclists in Lycra shorts and fitted jerseys. It can be disheartening when you have the same shorts and jerseys hanging in your closet, reason being, they don’t fit anymore, but they are just too darn expensive to give up.

But I know cycling will help me return to a healthier lifestyle. And the writer in me loves being able to smell freshly rained on grass and watch dragonflies mate while I work on my cadence. My husband also likes my rear in cycling shorts, so that helps boost the ego. πŸ˜‰

And that girl in the VW Beetle? The one that thinks she’s not cute in the driver’s seat at over 200 pounds? Deep down, she knows that to be successful in weight loss, she needs to love herself no matter the number on the scale or the view on the other side of the windshield. She also knows that she can’t fall in love with herself overnight. Slowly, she’s working on it. πŸ™‚

Any random thoughts you have about your weight that goes beyond the scale? Take a load off in the comments section!

About lachihuahuaespicy

I write. You can find the following authors on my bookshelf: Kafka, Murakami, Auster, Austen, as well as Hiromu Arakawa and Alan Moore. View all posts by lachihuahuaespicy

9 responses to “When Obsessing About the Scale Isn’t Enough

  • Edgar

    I have to share this with you. I’ve wanted a bicycle for many years….too many to count. I’ve wanted a bicycle since I outgrew the last one. That was over 15 years ago. I don’t know why I’ve postponed getting a bicycle for so long, but this week, finally, my Yakima bike rack came in. I hope to have enough money to get the bicycle this weekend. I will start with a Wal-Mart bike for now. I can always give my bike to my brother or boyfriend or sister-in-law whenever I ‘upgrade’ to a better bicycle…preferably one from CicloMania πŸ˜›

    Joking aside, I know exactly why I delayed the purchase of a bicycle. I didn’t want to be the fat kid on two wheels. I’ve always envied those men and women in lycra shorts and jerseys on the loop or on HWY 359. They all looked so relaxed and worry-free. I wanted to be one of them but lycra isn’t very forgiving. Last I check, Spanx isn’t in the cycling market.

    In jest, my dad once told me that I would look like ‘osito de carousel’… it must have left quite the impression.

    I’ll keep you posted once I get the bicycle. I’ve already decided where I’ll go ride. πŸ™‚

    • cheeseadditional

      Oh, wow, Edgar! I’m so glad you are making your dream come true, and I’m proud of you for not letting your dad’s comment bring you down. I left a comment on another friend’s blog about how a family member called my daughter a “bola,” and she took it to heart. Like I said, that family member may think it’s tough love, but it’s a tough enough world out there for our kids without having family berate their self esteems. You ride that bike, ‘manito! And, if you are ever up for it, we meet on Sundays at the new off-road trails off of Shiloh, behind the old Buck Ugly, usually at 10 AM. We love newbies! X)

      • Edgar

        Wanted to let you know I went out and bought the bike today. For now, its of the Wal-Mart variety. I came home put on the rack on my car and loaded up the bike. I went out to Lake Casa Blanca and rode for about 30 minutes. The first 5 were a bit challenging. I couldn’t quite get my balance.

        I can’t believe I went this long without riding a bike. What a great feeling!

        I am definitely going back out there tomorrow.

        EdR

      • Edgar

        Update: the handle bar came loose. I think this is a sign of what’s to come…bottom line, its a Wal Mart POS.

      • cheeseadditional

        Oh, Edgar! You should definitely bring it in so we can at least check to see if everything else is attached correctly. They really don’t have mechanics working for them. :/

  • knowwhentoshutup

    Nice Post! So many things…most of mine surround clothes, and other people. Although, I am on the quest to have my thighs not touch too! πŸ˜‰

    Just this weekend, my brother’s significant other was complaining that she was too fat to get in her bathing suit to go down to the pool with us. She is literally a size ZERO, but claims she doesn’t fit in her pants now, due to being 2 months pregnant. Then, I saw her eat nothing but candy. Meanwhile, I took her son, my nephew and my monkey’s to the pool. In my very NOT SIZE ZERO swimming suit. We had a blast.

    But, it made me so angry. If she thinks her body is disgusting, then what does she think of mine. If she couldn’t bear to get herself in a bathing suit because she was too fat. Ugh. I shouldn’t care what other people think, but it is people like that, that get under my skin.

    I have spent time in that bubble, too afraid to just put on the damn suit and enjoy the time with my kids. Now, I am past that. I don’t want to miss out on the fleeting opportunities that I get with them.

    • cheeseadditional

      Oh, those fleeting opportunities are what’s keeping me from staying shut indoors. I’ve missed out on too much of life already because of my weight. No more. I will join you in my not size zero swimsuit too. Oh, wait. I have to get one first, because that’s one of those opportunities that I kept pushing off to the side. πŸ™‚

  • 40 Pounds By June

    Great post on psychological weight connections!
    OK – here’s mine. I won’t tuck in my shirt when I’ve got extra weight on, even though larger over-the-waist shirts can actually make you look bigger! I, too, won’t put on a bathing suit. I hardly ever do, no matter what my weight. Self-conscious, I guess. Don’t know if I’ll ever get over that one – that will take ALOT of work!!

Leave a Reply

