Weigh-In: Fifth Week

I bet the turtle that said slow and steady wins the race never had to go on a weight loss journey. Because, if he had, he’d have known how frustrating slow weight loss can be.

Yup, you guessed it: I lost another half pound. When I did Weight Watchers a few years back, it was considered healthy to lose anywhere between 1/2-2 pounds a week. I haven’t kept up-to-date with the guidelines, but I imagine this is still true. And I know the research: slow weight loss leads to long term weight loss. So, why am I still beating myself up? Because I know that if I just exercise, the weight will come off in bigger chunks.

So, yes, I will wake up twice this coming week at five to hop on my Spinner Fit and ride, Baby, ride. I will hit the pavement twice this week in preparation for the half marathon in November. I will persevere, and I will be thankful that the number on the scale is descending. Better half a pound lost than three pounds gained, right?

About lachihuahuaespicy

I write. You can find the following authors on my bookshelf: Kafka, Murakami, Auster, Austen, as well as Hiromu Arakawa and Alan Moore. View all posts by lachihuahuaespicy

10 responses to “Weigh-In: Fifth Week

  • RareBeedLBC

    I love that you have set goals for the upcoming week!! Keep your head up! πŸ™‚

  • Ondrew

    I see you follow Matt’s Blog at Barn Door Cycling. He’s a machine and a great inspiration. He got me motivated to ride several thousand km last year as well ride through the winter. And it’s been a cold, snowy winter up here in Canada.

    Best of luck and celebrate ANY progress. At least you are stepping up and taking control.

    I was prompted to comment because of your blog name. I write a blog about cheese … because I really enjoy it but ironically I love to cycle too.

    http://canadacheeseman.wordpress.com/

  • knowwhentoshutup

    You bet!

    It is excruciatingly difficult to keep a positive mind set, especially since I’m so darn anxious to see that scale move that I hop on my too frequently. It is RIDICULOUS how much my body can fluctuate in weight. So, I just keep counting Tuesday’s morning weigh-in as ‘the number’ and trusting it will keep moving down, if I keep doing my part.

  • Kim

    just keep your head up and remember every ounce lost counts. Like you said at least you didn’t gain. πŸ™‚

  • 40 Pounds By June

    I feel your frustration. Why do we want it come off so quickly? You’re so right, though, down is down and that’s how it STAYS OFF.
    Sorry I have not been writing for almost a week – flu in the family 😦 – but feeling better !!

    • cheeseadditional

      Oh, Colleen! I hope everyone is doing well! Leda’s sick this week. She has an ear infection and is on nebulizer treatments for her cough. Didn’t stop her from going to the carnival last night. My little saru was so brave. She rode the ferris wheel, which she has wanted to do since she was four. I, on the other hand, am too chicken to get on, so her dad joined her.

Leave a Reply

